Overcoming hatred with love: The power of forgiveness

We’re in the middle of the “Teach Us To Pray” series at Journey Church, where we’re diving into the model that Christ gives us for prayer in Matthew 6:9-13 and Luke 11:2-4.

I was asked to prepare a sermon at Journey Church based around the verses “Give us today our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.” I had my six-page sermon all prepared, and then the morning I was to share I sensed that I was supposed focus exclusively on forgiveness – the priority for us to not only be in a right relationship with God, but also with one another.

I re-worked my sermon and trusted the Holy Spirit to speak through me – challenging us to forgive the people who have offended us, and giving examples of how we can overcome hatred with love. Many remarked afterwards how this was a message they needed to hear – Praise God!

You can listen to the sermon here: http://jcboston.org/power-forgiveness/

Also, in my sermon, I reference Martin Luther King’s quote “Darkness cannot drive out darkness, only light can do that. Hatred cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.” This is part of the text of Martin Luther King’s speech “Loving Your Enemies” which is viewable here: http://www.ipoet.com/ARCHIVE/BEYOND/King-Jr/Loving-Your-Enemies.html

Yes, in our efforts to obtain world peace, we must understand that this begins with you and me choosing to overcome hatred with love.

Leave a Reply

