Community: One Thing I’m Thankful For

Last weekend, we had the incredible blessing of having Jeff and Nancy Clark of Mutual Faith Ministries visit our church. Jeff and Nancy have had an incredible influence in the life of my pastors Kent and Gina and our budding church plant Journey Church here in Harvard Square.

One of the things they asked was, “What changes have you noticed since the church launch?”

The one thing that stands out in my mind is that I have seen a shift from Sunday services to everyone doing community together throughout the week.

As I count my blessings this Thanksgiving, the Christian fellowship that is springing up at Journey Church is something I’m so thankful for.

I must admit, in past semesters, small groups have felt a bit “annoying;” and I wished that I could be other places rather than studying the bible with my brothers and sisters in Christ. In fact, it felt a bit like pulling teeth to get people to come out weekly. But there has been a distinct shift – we have gone from one small group to four, and two of the groups are going to continue meeting even though the required number of weeks has finished!

I shared a sermon last week on Christian fellowship, explaining the various ways that the first Christians practiced this koinonia in Acts 2:42-47. I also gave some examples as to how we can live out this koinonia in our lives today. I’d encourage you to listen to the sermon here:

http://jcboston.org/koinonia-essence-christian-fellowship/

May you and your family have a blessed Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

