Sermon: Where the Spirit Dwells

Many times every day we get asked the question, “How are you?” 

But have you ever stopped to think – How are you doing, really?

Sometimes we plow through life, without really taking time to stop and think and reflect on how we are doing and what we are doing to take care of ourselves.

I preached a sermon last week entitled, “Where the Spirit Dwells.” One of the most important gifts that God has given us is the Holy Spirit to dwell within us. The Holy Spirit’s role is to guide us and to teach us and lead us through life; we must be intentional about protecting this so that God can fully glorify Himself through us. 

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 says “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.”

God’s spirit dwells within us to the degree that we take care of ourselves and clear our schedules to live out only the call that He has for us. We must have good boundaries and be able to say no when we need to in order for us to better reflect His light and His love to the world. God can’t use us at all if we’re burned out, tired and miserable all the time – and if you feel like this, it might be time to really evaluate everything that’s on your plate.

What changes in your life do you need to make to allow His spirit to dwell more fully within you? Do you take time to engage in activities that bring you life? The better your boundaries of self-definition and self-awareness are, the better able you will be to offer empathy and love to others.

One practice that I’ve started to incorporate in my daily devotional time these past few weeks has been to ask myself, “How am I doing?” and “What do I need?”

After this, I ask God, “How am I doing in living out your call on my life?” and “What do I need most at this time?”

This practice has truly been transformative for me. I’ve realized that I need to prioritize fun and play in my life, and invite people to come along in these times. In turn, I find that I’m more productive at work and overall a whole lot happier.

My friend Christ Otto says, “God wants you to do the thing you love, be the person you were made to be and walk in the reality of your you-ness. Your true self is the unique expression of the image of God in you.”

I want you to challenge you to do this daily, as a way of partnering with God so you can take care of yourself and allow the fullness of who He made you to be to shine!

You can download or listen to my full sermon here:

 http://jcboston.org/spirit-dwells/

 

Leave a Reply

