Unbearable Beauty

photo 1-12“I am roaring drunk with the lust of life and adventure and unbearable beauty.” – Everett Ruess

This month I’ve been totally wowed by the incredible world around us. Above is just one moment of the adventure – jumping off of a sandy beach in the bottom of the Grand Canyon.

From the intricacy of tiny white flower petals to the expanse of a massive canyon, every iota of our world speaks of passion, love, and beauty. The great outdoors have a way of making you seem small and insignificant, and giving you a fresh perspective.

But the existence of this unbearable beauty everywhere begs an explanation.

Ann Voskamp asks simply “How can we behold loveliness – and say that this world looks like this if there were no God?”

Truly, through everything God has made, His eternal power and divine nature become visible – so that we have no excuse for not believing (Romans 1:20).
This month has been a month of healing and refreshment – I got dirty with my sister in the Flagstaff Mud Run and guided youth rafting down the San Juan River. I also had the opportunity to spend wonderful moments with my extended family at a gathering to celebrate my Papa’s life, and my Granny from Colorado flew in to visit – these are memories that I truly cherish. I also preached a sermon on how God’s power to heal points us to the wonder of God.

As I leave tomorrow to return to Boston, you can join me in thanking God for the restoration He has done in my heart and soul these past few weeks. I am filled with excitement and anticipation for what God will do this fall – The launch of Journey Church on September 28th, and 10 Days Boston from September 24th to October 4th!

Spending time in nature attunes me to the age-old rhythms of time, of wind and water – God is so big! Yet that He concerns himself with the ins and outs of our day-to-day lives continually astounds me.

When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him? (Psalm 8:3)

In His abundant, unbearably beautiful love,

Kelly

Leave a Reply

