Sermon: Laying it Down

Our church is in the middle of a 21-day fast, and I’ve felt led to participate in a Daniel Fast, where I am eating solely fruits, vegetables, and whole grains (no meats, sweets, or dairy). There’s something about fasting that has a way of uncovering the things going on in your heart that doesn’t happen otherwise. And while this hasn’t been the most extreme fast that I’ve done, I sense that God has been doing something indescribable but significant in me these past few weeks.

Paul wrote: “I am crucified with Christ, and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20)

Questions have been going through my mind: Why did Jesus have to die on the cross, and what does it mean that we are crucified with Christ? Is Jesus really worth abandoning everything for? What in my life is hindering me from being fully surrendered to God?

Last Sunday, I shared about this and more in my sermon “Laying it Down” at Journey Church. You can listen to it on the link below:

http://jcboston.org/laying/

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

