It’s just destiny!

There are so many tasks in getting a new apartment set up. Moving, climbing, sweating, placing, re-arranging, then sweating some more.  Unpacking, dust & dirt caked sweat lines in cracks in your body. Craigslisting, freecycling and roping odd-shaped furniture items on top of a car that was never made to haul furniture. Yet God can be in it all, if we allow Him.

The other day, I was on the phone with a guy who was setting up our electric bill. He was going through the standard procedure: “Name…Birthday…email…SSN…” and on and on. I was trying to not get annoyed by how long this was taking, when all the sudden I heard from the other end, “That’s weird! My wife’s name is Kelly and she was born on April 13th and I was born in 1985!”

I said, “Yeah that is kind-of weird,” to which he responded, “It’s like destiny! We were supposed to meet each other.”

Now after traveling the world, there’s been plenty of young men who have remarked about how we were destined to meet. But this comment didn’t make sense considering he had a wife, so I just shrugged it off.

A few more drab questions later, he said, “I have to ask you, do you know someone named Bruce?”

Somewhat startled, I replied, “Yeah, actually, that’s my dad’s name…”

To which he exclaimed, “Bruce is my name! It’s like destiny – We were supposed to meet!”

My spirit perked up. I responded, “Actually, it’s not just destiny – it’s God. There are no coincidences – God has a unique plan for each person’s life and brings certain people into our lives to shape us into who He wants us to become.”

And I heard, “That’s amazing…” And then we proceeded right where we left off.

At the end of the call, he asked me, “Is there anything else I can help you with? Do you have any questions?”

I paused. “Yeah, I do have a question… Do you believe in Jesus?”

And thus ensued a long awkward silence which tends to proceed any question about faith. But I’ve learned to be ok with the silence. Finally, I heard, “You know, I’ve been thinking about going back to church for awhile now. But my wife doesn’t want to go.”

I responded, “You should really go. I came to know Jesus in college, and He changed my life. There’s absolutely nothing like the love of Jesus Christ.”

He said, “Yeah, I could tell that you believed by the tone of your voice. Yeah, I think I’m going to go to church.”

“Great!” I affirmed. And then we ended the conversation and I hung up the phone, knowing that something very significant had just happened to me and probably Bruce too.

No, it’s not just destiny – there are no coincidences in life.

God envisioned your life at the very beginning of time; you are made for a purpose with a distinctive set of strengths that are uniquely yours. God has taken you through life’s ups and downs, and has brought people into your life to shape you into the person He desires you to become.

There is no greater joy than partnering with God to write the story of your life. If you haven’t done so already, would you surrender your life into His hands? If there is one thing I’ve learned, it’s that His plan is way better than my own.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

-Jeremiah 1:4-5

“I am a little pencil in the hand of a writing God who is sending a love letter to the world.”

-Mother Teresa

2 thoughts on “It’s just destiny!

Leave a Reply

