Loving Cambodia’s Children: May Newsletter

Highlights from this month:
May: Loving children at Cambodian Hope Orphanage
June: back to Boston!
11 months in 5 minutes: Highlight Video from the World Race
This is the last month on the World Race…crazy! We worked in an orphanage in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. I really enjoyed loving on the children that society has largely rejected. We organ
ized a field day for the King’s birthday where we had jump rope, water balloons, and relays – so much fun (see photo on the right)

We also raised some money and gave the kids new sports equipment as well as a refrigerator. I enjoyed teaching some volleyball clinics – but sometimes they learned too well! In the photo below, you can see me getting “schooled” by one of the young men.

In Cambodia, I also saw extreme poverty, which really broke my heart. We met some children who lived in a dump and worked 8+ hours a day collecting bottles and cans so they could eat. I also befriended some young Cambodian girls on my early morning runs, and the mother asked me if I wanted to buy her children. This experience really moved me…Read my blog about ithere.

Here’s Payton’s highlight video that she put together from our month in Cambodia:

Next Stop: Boston
After almost 30 hours of travel, I’ve arrived back to America. It feels good to be here back on American soil, but strange as well. I’ll be spending a few days here at home in Arizona, and then will be in Boston from June 6 to 26. I’m excited to re-connect with friends and people laboring for the Kingdom in Boston – I’ll be emailing many of you so we can meet up!

You may be asking: What’s next? God has given me clarity about returning to Boston, and continuing in our efforts to help the Christian community work together with UniteBoston. I’ve traveled all over the world, and I can honestly say that there is nowhere else that I want to be – Boston is where my heart is. I’m excited about applying what I’ve learned in experiencing cultures around the world.  I’m also really looking forward to continuing to serve with Journey Church and reach the people of Cambridge with the love of Christ.

World Race Highlight Video
These past few days, I’ve been working on the difficult task of summing up eleven months of experiences with the World Race in just a few minutes. I’ve really been amazed by power of Christ’s love, so I made a video centered around this theme – posted below. I’d really encourage you to watch it!

Prayer Requests & Praises

  • Praise! I have been amazed at the grace and protection that has been present with me these past eleven months. I feel this is largely due to your prayers. So for those of you who have lifted me up time and again, I want to say, “Thank you!”
  • Pray for a smooth transition as I re-enter the ministry scene in Boston – that God would give me clear guidance and direction, and I might be able to integrate these experiences effectively
  • Pray for refreshment and renewal as I rest and spend time with family

This month, I’ve been amazed to reflect on the transformation that has occurred since I left one year ago. I really feel God moving me from glory, to glory:
“Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we, who will unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory…(2 Corinthians 3:17-18)

May He continue to transform us and the world,

Kelly

Leave a Reply

