Miracles in Malaysia: April Newsletter

Highlights from this month:
This month: Homeless ministry in Penang, Malaysia
Next Month: Working at an Orphanage in Phnom Pehn, Cambodia 
Visit to the Orang-Asli Aboriginal people
Miracles! You may have opened this email to see some crazy story of healing or sign that could have happened only by the hand of God. Yes, there have been miracles. But I’m learning that every day is a miracle in itself. It just takes the right perspective.

This month I worked at a homeless drop-in center called Kawan, which means “friends” in Malay. We served breakfast and lunch to approximately 100 people three days a week. My job was to welcome our new friends as they walked in the door. There were a few people that I really got to know during our time there – It was a miracle to see how God opened up conversations and how they grew as they began to learn about Him. I really enjoyed getting to know all of my new kawans, and throughout this month, God has been using these friends to teach me what it means to be poor in spirit. I took my video camera around with me one day – check out this blog to see the “insider’s perspective” of a typical day serving at Kawan.

Two days a week, we also volunteered at the Adventist Hospital, where we helped to raise funds for patients who couldn’t afford heart surgery. We did this by playing music the waiting rooms. Over the course of three weeks, our team raised 18,500 RM, which is over $6,000 USD! This was the second highest amount that has ever come in by a World Race team! It was truly a miracle to see how people opened up their hearts to give to this cause. We also worked with the hospital chaplains to pray with patients. My teammate Jillian wrote an amazing blog about our work in the hospital called “A Day in the Life: Malaysia” – definitely check it out!

Here’s our highlight video from the month:

Visit to the Orang Asli People
We had the incredible opportunity of visiting the Orang Asli people, one of Malaysia’s aboriginal tribes. It was quite a journey – We had to take a ferry, then drive for four hours and then cross a pond on a boat to get there…When we arrived, the children danced and sang a song for us. We were the first white people ever to visit their village! I was so amazed to see how much joy they had, with so little – it was truly a miracle. Read my blog about this experience here  I wish I could take all of you to meet them – but the beauty of technology is that you can go to the village on your computer

Next Month: Orphanage Ministry in Cambodia
It’s crazy for me to think that I’ve been gone for ten months already, and that Cambodia is our last month of ministry on the World Race. In about 36 hours, we will be leaving on a plane to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. We’ll be working at an orphanage in Phnom Penh, Cambodia – I’m excited to hang out with a lot of little ones all month!

Finally, don’t miss a Recipe for Banana Roti, a favorite treat of ours on the World Race!

Prayer Requests & Praises

  • Pray for strength and endurance that I might finish the last month on the World Race well
  • Pray for clarity, that I would find time to process through everything that God has been teaching me, and that He would give me wisdom for my next steps
  • Pray for patience and discernment for relationships I have built with my teammates
  • Pray for Boston – My heart has been burdened by the recent events during the Boston marathon. Yet, it was amazing to see how the body of Christ in Boston came together during this time – read my blog about this here 

This month, God has been filling me with a lot of joy – and as Psalm 118:24 says:

“This is the day the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it!”

Rejoice today, for this day is a gift that God has given you!

Kelly

Leave a Reply

