March Newsletter: Thailand

Newsletter 4/02/13
Highlights from this month:
This month: Love Acts ministry in Chiang Mai, Thailand
Next Month: Homeless Ministry in Panang, Malaysia
24-hour Prayer and Thai Paper Lanterns
Sawadee-Ka! (That’s Thai for “Hello!”)We just had an amazing month in Thailand, working with Lighthouse in Action. My team was mainly doing bar ministry, building relationships with the girls who work there. I connected with an amazing young woman named Blue. She was the same age as me – 27 – but as we sat down to dinner together, I discovered that the 27 years of her life were so different than my own. You can read her story here. Blue no longer wants to work in the bars as a prostitute, so she and her friend opened a restaurant! They serve delicious food, and I included her recipe for Thai Noodle Salad on my blog here. It’s amazing for me to see how God has already worked in her life – I’m really going to miss her!

In addition to bar ministry, our team helped to relocate a coffeeshop that our our host Emmi owns. Emmi had been looking for a new building closer to the red light district to be more accessible to the bar workers. Halfway through the month, a man offered her a space only three blocks from the bars. And get this – he gave it to her for free! So for the next two weeks, we cleaned and spiffed up the new building, and then moved the entire contents of the old coffeeshop to its new location. She named it Zion, which is significant because in the bible Zion is a territory of the enemy which is redeemed for the Lord. I really appreciated doing something tangible in our ministry this month – it was amazing to see the progress that was made in just two weeks!
Here’s Carmen’s highlight video that she put together from our month in Thailand:

And here is a video that the YWAM Kansas City team put together – they tell the story well:

“A Light to the Lost” YWAM KC Thailand Outreach Part 1 from YWAM KansasCity on Vimeo.

Next Month: Homeless Ministry in Panang, Malaysia
In April, we’ll be working at a drop-in center for the homeless in Panang, Malaysia. It is open three days a week and provides meals, clothes, showers, and connections to social services. I’m really looking forward to loving the people here whom society has largely rejected.  You can click on the image below to watch a video about YWAM Penang…

24-Hour Prayer and Thai Lanterns
At the end of last month, all the girls did a 24-hour prayer and worship burn,  where there was worship music and intercession happening in the new coffeeshop for 24 straight hours. We wanted to lay down the foundation of the presence of God in the the new coffeeshop building. To culminate this time, we wrote down our prayers on Thai paper lanterns, then sent them off the roof of the building, lighting the sky above the city. It was a glorious tangible representation of the prayers that we had prayed throughout our time of worship.

New Team, Yet Again!
We just have been assigned new teams for the last two months of the World Race. I’m on a team of four girls and two guys – We named ourselves “Team Breaking Bread.” Breaking bread is something that the first Christians did together as a symbol of the bond they shared in Christ. I haven’t been on a team with any of them before, and I’m really looking forward to getting to know each person and to see what God has in store for us!

Prayer Requests & Praises!

  • Praise! Thanks for your prayers – I’ve had time to rest this past month, which has been great. I also learned a lot about leadership from my time last month as a team leader – your prayers in this really made a difference!
  • Pray for clarity. It’s been hard to process everything that has happened these past nine months; my head feels really jumbled and I don’t even know where to begin. Pray that I would find time to process through all of the experiences  and everything that God has been teaching me.
  • Pray for our new team – that we would dive in together and that God would give us hearts to love and embrace the Malay people

Happy Easter!
I hope everyone had an amazing Easter!  I spent the day worshipping with our squad on the rooftop overlooking Penang and reflecting on other Easters I have had. Read my blog about it here.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us a new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead (1 Peter 1:3)

Christ is risen! He is risen indeed!

Kelly

Leave a Reply

