December Newsletter: A Malawian Christmas

Newsletter 12/30/12
Highlights from this month:
Church Planting in Malawi, Africa
Next Month: Youth Ministry in Kathmandu, Nepal
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!
Church Planting in Malawi, Africa
This month, we ministered to three different locations in Malawi.

  • First, we did hut-to-hut ministry in a tiny village between Mzuzu and Nkata Bay. Lack of running water and electricity, as well as many huge bugs, were challenging for us, but I really enjoyed meeting and ministering to the many people there who were hungry to know God. Not only this, but we arrived in Malawi at the start of mango season – the fresh juicy mangoes we were able to pick right off the trees were absolutely delicious!
  • For the second part of the month, we served in the city of Nkotakota with Timothy Harvest Ministries. Timothy Harvest is building a large training center to equip local leaders. The first day we arrived, we spent time praying over their land. God gave me a prophetic word to share that really meant a lot to them – read about this experience here.We spent the week doing more hut-to-hut ministry in this area – I appreciated that the ministry took  notes and made follow-up visits to each home. It was clear that their focus was on making disciples, not just converts. Not only this, but they distributed water filters to improve the health of the community – it was refreshing to take part in this holistic ministry vision. Our last day in town, each of our team members shared an hour-long seminar with their staff – I shared about UniteBoston and challenged them to think about how they could work with other churches in the city with their training center.
  • Last, we spent about a week in the capital city of Lilongway to finalize our visas for our journey to South Africa and Mozambique for debrief. The highlight for me of this time was delivering bibles to a church that another one of our teams had just planted. Read about this experience, and my reflections comparing church planting in America and Africa here

This has been a challenging month in many respects – it’s difficult to be away from home for Christmas, as well as the fact that one of our teammates, Danielle, left the field to go back to America. God has really been working with me with my heart – and showing me how broken I am without Him. I’ve been realizing that we are all poor, but in different ways. Read about my blog “On Poverty” here
Finally, as I was reflecting on my last three months in Africa, I wrote a funny blog called “You know you’re in Africa when…”

Next Month: Youth Ministry in Kathmandu, Nepal
We just took a 36-hour straight bus ride from Malawi to Johannesburg, South Africa via Mozambique and Zimbabwe. We have a few days here with our squad for debrief and then will be taking four flights to Kathmandu. I am really looking forward to next month – I love youth ministry and am really looking forward to living in the Himalayan Mountains. It’s hard for me to believe that the World Race is already halfway through…What will God have for us during these next five months in Asia?

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
I hope that everyone had an amazing Christmas! Christmas in Africa looks a lot different than in America – For many Africans, Christmas is the only day of the year they get to eat meat. On Christmas Eve, our team visited a girl’s orphanage, which was such a blast. We painted nails and did a Christmas skit with the girls. I enjoyed it so much that I think I am going to start an annual family tradition where my family will serve others on Christmas Eve…On Christmas Day we were blessed to be at a hostel with another team. We spent the day playing cards, swimming in the pool, and eating a delicious dinner of beef and potatoes. I was also blessed to call and talk to many members of my extended family as well – I miss you guys! It was a different sort of Christmas Day than I’m used to – centered around loving God and loving the people that He has put in my life rather than the presents under the tree…Read about this here.

Prayer Requests
The past few weeks have been challenging for our team, Team Bithiah. Please pray for unity among the members of our team, Christ’s love to shine forth, and an ability to see one another as He sees us. Thanks for your prayers!

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” (Isaiah 9:6)
Praise be to our God who is our everlasting father and our prince of peace. He alone is good!

In His love,

Kelly

Leave a Reply

