July Newsletter: I’m in Ireland!

This past month has been incredible. I’ve had to pinch myself more than once to remind myself that yes, I’m really in Ireland. One of my squadmates, KJ Blair, made an awesome documentary about the beginning of our journey – you can watch it here:

World Race – H Squad Launch from KJ Blair on Vimeo.

I’ve been working with three World Race teams (21 people) in Greystones, Ireland.  Our ministry work this month has consisted mainly of distributing pamphlets with scripture in various towns, villages, and housing estates throughout the country. It’s amazing for me to realize that our teams passed out more than 30,000 of these the past three weeks, and already a number of people have responded.  Although this is incredible within itself, more significant in my mind is the lives that I saw that were touched by our conversations. For example, we came across dozens of teenagers who were seeking truth in a tiny Irish town one evening – read more about that here; as well as one afternoon in a housing flat where five women gave their lives to following Jesus here!   I’ve also enjoyed getting to meet local Traveler people – read more about this community as well as a recipe for Authentic Irish Stew here.

Not only that, but we had the privilege of seeing much of the landscape of Ireland – sleeping on beaches, swimming in seas and climbing mountains. My favorite was the majestic Cliffs of Moher, which is like the Grand Canyon that I grew up with but also with an ocean crashing below.

This month I’ve been learning to abandon everything – putting my old life aside to embrace the new life that is before me. Life on the Race is simple – there are no bills to pay and your only job is to love the one in front of you. I’m learning to live in the moment and how to follow other leaders even when all my questions aren’t answered. I’m learning the value of community and how incredible it can be to live within a group of people who are committed to growing together with God and with one another.I brought my camera around with me this past month so you can get a sense of the Irish people, culture, and how God has been working in and through us. Watch this video here:

Next Month: Rivne, Ukraine 
Next month, we will be working with a missionary from Maryland who serves in Rivne, Ukraine. We’ll be helping with a children’s bible camp as well as teaching English at a day camp. Check my blog for regular updates!

Back in Boston
Earlier this month, UniteBoston received confirmation from the IRS of becoming a 501(c)3 non-profit! It’s amazing to remember that just a year and a half ago, we sent the first UniteBoston email. We are excited about the next stage in this journey of our organization and God’s desire to bring unity in a city such as Boston.

Also, Pastor Kent interviewed me about the World Race journey before I left Boston – watch this here:

Prayer Requests
-Pray for continued freedom and vulnerability among our team so that we can continue to strengthen one another in our walks with the Lord
-Pray that I might continue to find time and space to spend time with God every day and hear His voice clearly
-Pray that Team Doulos might continue to be vessels of Christ’s love to the world around us

Psalm 67:3-4 says: “May the peoples praise you, God; may all the peoples praise you. May the nations be glad and sing for joy, for you rule the peoples with equity and guide the nations of the earth.” 

In His love and joy,

Kelly

Leave a Reply

