Newsletter 6/29/12 – Four days and counting!

It’s hard for me to believe that in four days, I will be leaving to serve in eleven nations all over the world!

This past month has been a worldwind of goodbyes, prayers, packing, moving, and lots and lots of details.

June 16 – Goodbye to friends

Time of prayer and commissioning

First, I said goodbye to friends from all over the city at a send-off party at Nahant Beach. I’m so thankful for everyone who was able to join us. There was bocce ball, kites, food, and a great time of prayer. It was a bit chilly, but a few of us even braved the cold went for an ocean swim.

If you weren’t able to attend, you can see more pictures and watch a video of the prayer time on my blog post Beach Time!

June 24 – Goodbye to New England

In the distance – the first four peaks of our journey

I said goodbye to New England last Sunday when I hiked the Presidential Traverse. This hike was AMAZING! The vast majority of it was above treeline – we bagged the eight mountain peaks in the Presidential Range in one day. Over 24 miles of hiking and 9,000 feet elevation gain means that I was super sore, but it was so worth it. I couldn’t imagine a better way to say good-bye to New England.

Our group at the top of Mount Washington, New England’s highest point

June 26 – Goodbye to Boston

The Top of the Hub with the UniteBoston team

I had the privilege of saying goodbye to Boston at the Top of the Hub restaurant with the UniteBoston team.  This month, I’ve been training and equipping the people who will be taking over my responsibilities with UniteBoston. They are doing a great job already! I’ve also been encouraged to see how God has continued to send people to serve with us – most recently a young woman from Korea who will be helping with social media and advertising. This is an answered prayer – we know that in order for UniteBoston to truly be UNITE Boston, it must be built on a group of people with varied backgrounds and experiences.

June 29 – Goodbye to the Atlantic Ocean

In the cold winter months, late one night at Trader Joe’s my co-worker Ann and I dreamt about going surfing. She surprised me by taking me to Rhode Island earlier today to go boogie boarding. We were blessed with an amazing set of good-sized waves. Who knew you could go surfing in New England?

It’s your turn! What piece of encouragement, scripture, prophetic word, or advice do you have for me and my journey? I’m going to be writing these in a journal that I will take with me… I’d love to hear from you!

The next time I write, I will be in Ireland!  To the nations I go…

May the nations be glad and sing for joy,
for you rule the peoples with equity
and guide the nations of the earth.
May the peoples praise you, God;
may all the peoples praise you.
(Psalm 67:4-5)

In His love and joy,

Kelly

Leave a Reply

