Newsletter 4/29/12

In this month’s newsletter:

Baptisms at Journey Church

This morning, four people (Xavier, Karen, Charity, and Pastor Kent & Gina’s son Kole) were baptized.  Baptisms at our church are a bit complicated – we rent space in a hotel, so we have to carry in a horse trough and fill it up with water from the sink with a hose. But it is always so worth it to celebrate as people take this step – dying to their old ways and rising to new life in Christ.   

Thanks for your prayers for the Cambridge Community Easter Outreach! Although we had to push back the event one week due to rain, over 200 kids came to participate in three egg hunts with more than 4,000 eggs. To the right is an image of everyone gathered around to hear the winners of our free community raffle, where we gave away grocery bags, gift certificates, movie tickets, and more!

Also at Journey Church this month – I preached a sermon on “Is Christ the Only Way?” I have always wrestled with Christ’s claim that He is the only way to God. How could He be the only way? But as I began to look into the historical evidence for the life of Christ, I became utterly blown away at the firm foundation that our faith is built upon.  You can listen/download to the sermon here or look at the sermon notes here

Thinking conceptually about UniteBoston and our work in Boston


Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about UniteBoston – what a church truly united in Christ’s love would look like… and what UniteBoston is doing to help bring greater unity to this city. I’ve come up with a few crazy-looking diagrams. Note that this is my model and my interpretation of the system that UniteBoston is a part of – I’m just one person and I don’t think I can even pretend to have it all figured out! I’d love to get your feedback on these – feel free to check them out and post questions/comments on my blog post here

Opportunity to Give
In just two months, I will be leaving for an 11-month mission trip called the “World Race,” in which I will be serving with fifty other young people in eleven nations throughout the world for eleven months. I am super excited to see what God is doing all over the world!
In being a missionary, I’ve learned the value of being upfront and honest with my support needs. As of today, I still need to raise $1,300 in my World Race account before June 15. This is an awesome opportunity to contribute to what God is doing in nations throughout the world. If you’d like to make a donation, you can visit http://kellysteinhaus.theworldrace.org/ then click on “Support Me” on the left. Alternatively, you can write a check out to “Adventures in Missions” and mail to:
Adventures in Missions
PO Box 534470
Atlanta, GA 30353-4470
In the memo line, be sure to indicate “For Kelly Steinhaus”
Thanks for joining alongside me in this journey!

Prayer Requests:
-Wisdom and guidance for the leaders of UniteBoston – a smooth transition in the next two months is crucial for our organization
-We’re recruiting for people to carry on various aspects of UniteBoston – we have an informational session about these opportunities on May 17. Pray that God would bring people who are skilled, passionate, and available to contribute to our ministry
-Continued breakthrough for Journey Church into this community – lately we’ve been praying for ears to hear our Father’s voice.

Jesus came that we might have life, and have it to the full (John 10:10). I pray that you would be filled with Christ’s life this month.

In His love and joy,

Kelly

Leave a Reply

