We can trust Him

Last month, I attended a meeting at the Emmanuel Gospel Center where a team from True Story Theatre were guest presenters. True Story asked people to share stories about things that were happening in their work life, and then the team would do a short performance to act out the story and emotions. The incredible thing is that the actors did not collaborate together; they simply heard the story and read cues from one another to put the story together with actions, music, and words.

At this meeting, I had the opportunity to share a short part of my life with them – the beginning of UniteBoston, how it grew, then how God is calling me to serve in the nations for a year and my current anxiousness about leaving everything. They did a fabulous job of acting this out – Check it out here:

Honestly I feel like I’m being pulled in two directions. I’m excited about leaving, but I’m anxious about UniteBoston. What will happen? A friend shared with me that it’s probably like having a baby and then giving it up for someone else to raise. I thought that was a great analogy.

The past few weeks, I have had to continually remind myself that it’s not my job to unite the city of Boston; it’s God’s job.

In my prayer times, I feel like God is gently asking me a question, “Don’t you think I know what I am doing?”
Then…”You can trust me.”

Yes, we can trust God. But why is it so hard? Why is it so hard for us to leave the life we know, leave our hopes and dreams, to follow Him? He’s still doing the same thing today that He did with the very first disciples – calling us to forsake all and follow Him. I’m learning that sometimes even the dreams that God births in our heart have to be set aside for a season. Although we might not understand it all, we simply have to have faith and trust…

He never promised us it would be easy. But as we follow Him, pursuing His kingdom, He promises that He will take care of us, and our reward in heaven will be great.

One scripture that I have been meditating on during the past few months is Philippians 4:6-7: “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

We can trust God. He knows what He is doing. Jesus, Give me faith to believe…

4 thoughts on “We can trust Him

  1. Being a start up person then leaving it for others to build up and lead is always a bit challenging. Just when something get established and there is something to really see, you are of to get something else started. But that’s Great Commission work. God bless you as you courageously continue to follow His leading;

    Ralph Kee

    • Thanks Ralph – There is a lot of wisdom in your statement that this type of thing is truly Great Commission work. I just have to trust that God is holding it all in His hands and is working everything out to His greater purposes. Thanks for your continued encouragement and support – I couldn’t do it without people like you!

  2. Kelly,
    God has wonderfully made us with all our feelings of joy, sadness and longings of all kinds. Arriving finally home in heaven will eliminate the hardship of hard goodbyes and new hellos. Prov. 3:5-6 helped fuel me anxious tearful moments leaving, returning, staying and resting. Once you step out those fears get covered with His love for you and eagerness for the new event and new people. Take it from an old hello- goodbye person God does cover His work you are called to be faithful to His call and leave the rest to Him. Many blessings and great joy to you. I will be praying for you and reading you just as often as you blog. hugs
    Judy Kee

    • Hi Judy. It’s great to have you speak into this, as your international missions experience is truly extraordinary. I was talking to a friend today and he said that it seems like we do a lot of goodbyes in the kingdom of God – but goodbyes are always hellos. We should just be like the hawaiians and say “aloha!” which means both goodbye and hello!

      Lately, I have felt the Lord affirming me with Proverbs 3 as well – Praise God that He promises that if we trust in Him with all our heart and acknowledge him in all our ways, He will direct our paths. He is our rock, our firm foundation – in Him we will not be moved!

Leave a Reply

