A Story About Sand Dollars

Last Saturday, I took the commuter rail up to my friends Jonathan and Cassie’s house, who live two blocks from the biggest private beach in New England. It’s a mile long and the use is restricted to people within their neighborhood. That means it’s pretty much the best thing, ever. I come up to visit, pretending that I want to see their family, but secretly I just enjoy hanging out at their beach.

On Saturday morning, I went on a run on the beach, and God did something really cool.

I was jogging for a little while, and then I prayed, “God, I’ve always wanted to find a whole sand dollar. It would be really cool if I found one this morning, as a symbol of your provision.”

Ten minutes later I look down and I see one at my feet, a whole one, in perfect condition. At first I didn’t think it was real. But no, there it was, a whole, solid sand dollar. I picked it up between my fingers, shouted, “Thank you, God!” and kept it clenched in my hand as I continued running, praising God for answered prayers.

Then a few minutes later I look down at my feet and see another sand dollar. Then I look around and see another, another, and I realize I’m standing amidst dozens of living sand dollars. I counted 38 of them. Wow! What is this about? I sensed the Holy Spirit was telling me, “When you trust in me, you won’t just have enough, you will have more than enough.”

Now that’s cool, huh? Two scripture verses came to mind:

  • Matthew 6:33 – “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”
  • Philippians 4:19 – “But my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”

It’s freeing to know that when we trust in God, and put His kingdom first, He will give us everything that we need. But God won’t just provide for what we need, He’ll provide for more than we need – He loves us that much!

Later I asked Cassie about sand dollars on the beach, and she told me how the section of the beach I was running on is typically filled with sand dollars. But my morning jog really meant a lot to me. It’s cool how when you choose to pray and talk to God, you see Him  answer prayers, turning a regular-old morning jog on the beach into a perspective-shifting, life-changing morning. Not only do I believe that He will provide for everything that I need, I have seen Him do it, time and time again. I know His provision is real because I’ve personally experienced how God will give you what you need, right when you need it.

Here I tell the story about sand dollars, Gabe eats my hair and we praise the Lord all amidst standing on a tidepool…

Leave a Reply

