You’re Beautiful: An attempt to see the world through God’s perspective

We all have times when we wonder, “Does anybody think I’m beautiful?”

The other day I was at a coffee shop and I ending up spilling hot cocoa all over myself and my blue skirt; then afterwards my still-slippery shoes tripped and I fell down the stairs. My klutzy teenage years came flooding back to me and in that moment the thought came to me, “Does anybody think I’m beautiful?”

And then I remembered this spoken word poem by a guy name Mike Young, a gifted young man at the Bethel School of Supernatural Ministry. He does an amazing job at explaining this tension we all live in – we all want to feel beautiful, and yet we live in a world that speaks lies to us about who we are and the source of our identity. We are constantly bombarded with ideas such as – you don’t have enough money, you have to graduate from this particular school or have this degree to be successful, you’re not pretty enough, sexy enough, wealthy enough, beautiful enough.

In the above video, Mike describes some of these struggles, then asks, “Does anybody think I’m beautiful?” In a vast turn, Mike proclaims how God does, how God knew him since the beginning of time, how God paints creation in order that we might call on His name and know His infinite love for us. Indeed, if we base our identity on anything other than Christ’s love, it will fall away…You – yes, you – You are beautiful. Believe it. Receive it. Then weave it into who you are and who you become.

1 John 3:1 – “How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!”

So, which one of us is God’s favorite? Some people might say that God doesn’t have favorites, but indeed he does – we are all his favorite!  Today my goal was to try to see myself and others around me the way that God sees them. I prayed that God would give me His eyes and heart for a new vision of the world – that I would see the beauty within each person around me.

In my journey to early morning prayer, I passed by a homeless man with only a blanket and the sidewalk as his bed. I asked him to tell me about his life. He told me about how yesterday he had walked from the airport to here, carrying his entire possessions with him. I can’t imagine carrying everything I owned on my back for miles. I told him that I thought the simplicity of his life was beautiful.

I saw a young girl in the grocery store carrying a silver piece of artwork from school, and I asked her to tell me about it. She described how it was supposed to be a lion but everyone though it was a dog. I told her that I thought it was absolutely beautiful. Her eyes lit up and she gave me a memorable 8-year old toothy smile.

When I was in the waiting room at the dentist’s office, there was a man tending to an elderly gentleman who needed some dental work done. It was captivating to watch their interactions – I noticed how every move was dedicated to the care and well-being of the elderly gentleman. He was there to live for the other – it was indeed beautiful. He was seeing that guy through the eyes of Christ.

Last night, I told one of my coworkers at Trader Joe’s that I liked her hair. She said she had just gotten it cut and highlighted – did I really like it? I said, “Yes, it’s beautiful.” And those simple words seemed to make all the difference.

Ephesians 5:1-2: “Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”

John 13:35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” 

God, would you open our eyes to see ourselves and others the way that you see us. I pray that you would show me how I can help each person I meet to understand who they are, how you have made them, and how beautiful they are in your eyes. I pray that you would give me opportunities to demonstrate your immense, incredible love to the world around me.

Will you take time today to see the world through God’s perspective? Will you tell someone today that they’re beautiful?

One thought on “You’re Beautiful: An attempt to see the world through God’s perspective

  1. This post is beautiful. :) So true, Kelly. We need the perspective of Jesus daily and to see things through His eyes is to see them in a completely different, yet better light. Thanks for the challenge.

Leave a Reply

