Newsletter 2/29/12

Newsletter 2/29/12

Happy Leap Year! Last night, my mom asked me what I was doing last leap year. What were you doing last leap year, in February 2008?
In February 2008, I was just gearing up for my last season of rowing at Gonzaga University. It’s amazing to look back and see where God takes you in this incredible journey we call life!

Journey Church Highlight Video

The past few weeks, I’ve been working to put together a video compiling pictures and video from Journey Church in 2011. It’s always fun to look back on the year and reflect on how Christ has changed you individually, as well as corporately as a community. Click on the image below to see what God is doing in Cambridge… 

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JNQqxrL2-c)

Results from the UniteBoston survey

In early February, we sent out a survey to all the UniteBoston subscribers, looking for feedback on  the services we are providing to the community. Two of the most notable survey results are displayed above – 87% of people who responded appreciated our weekly newsletter the best, compared to 26% with the online calendar. Also, 46% of people attended one to two events last year that they learned about exclusively through UniteBoston. It is encouraging for us to see people changing their behavior based on our work to help spread the word of what churches are doing in the area:
     

People also commented:

  • “I really like knowing what’s going on in the community around Boston, not just what’s going on in my church.”
  • “It is hard to know about Christian events, so Uniteboston meets a great need.”
  • “I think UniteBoston is great at providing a centralized forum to help Christians in the city communicate and know all of the awesome things going on! This to me seems like the thing UniteBoston is best at and should keep working to do. Communication is key and churches aren’t necessarily really great at that…especially with other churches.”
  • “Great resource for Boston that I’ve shared with several people. Keep it up!”

Support Raising trip to Washington 

Last week, I visited Spokane and Seattle, Washington to catch up with old friends and share with people about my ministry work in Boston. It was such a joy to see everyone! I feel incredibly blessed to have such amazing friends and I am so thankful to each person who helped me find Jesus :-) Your kindness has led me to find true life in Him. Here are three highlights from the trip:

Briawna, Julie and I with our homemade stuffed peppers!                     

Briawna, Julie, and I with our              Tiff, Strudel (the dog) & I
plate of homemade stuffed                  inside their beautiful new
peppers.                                           “Steinhaus” rock house
 
Lynette and I taking a refreshing
walk alongside the Seattle ocean

Prayer requests:

-Continued wisdom and guidance for  the UniteBoston leadership team. We are really praying for more volunteers to come alongside our work with UniteBoston. This is especially important as I am looking to transfer some of my responsibility to others during my year abroad.
-For Journey Church – Our word for 2012 is “Yield.” Pray that we would yield to God, not yield to temptation, yield to one another, and yield abundant fruit for the kingdom of God.

“I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:11-13)

In His love and joy,

Kelly

Leave a Reply

