The Opportunity to Bless

Now I love Chinese food. The spicyness of the curries and General Tso Chicken, the way you slurp down the  chow mein noodles, and there’s nothing quite like the crispy orange chicken fried deliciousness. One of my favorite things about Chinese food is the fact that you get a fortune cookie after the meal to top it all off.  I’ve never put too much into fortune cookie messages because they are rooted in Chinese philosophy, which is against the gospel of Jesus Christ. Not only that, but it seems to me that every message I got could apply to anyone, so really it’s not predicting anything at all.

But last week I had lunch with my friend Becca – and I realized that God can speak to us through anything – even fortune cookies!

After explaining my vision, she felt that God was leading her to write a check to contribute to my work in the area, which I was really blessed by! Then we opened our cookies. My cookie said, “New financial resources will soon become available to you.” Now that’s cool, huh?  It blows me away to think that God had divinely orchestrated that we would meet that day, decide to eat Chinese food, chose those exact cookies, and I would open that cookie to describe exactly what had just happened!  I’m always amazed at how God works things in the natural realm to confirm what is happening in the spiritual.

But the even cooler thing is that Becca’s fortune cookie said, “Good things are coming to you.” You see, the bible promises us that: “Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” (Luke 6:38) He promises that as we give, it will be given to us. When we choose to bless others financially, it engages our hearts, and God honors that by blessing us in return. Indeed, a few people who have contributed to my ministry work on a monthly basis have said, “Kelly – I’ve been giving to you but somehow it comes back to me by the end of the month.” How awesome is that?

I have to continually remind myself to hold my money and possessions loosely – after all, they aren’t really mine, they’re God’s who has given me a chance to steward them. Generosity was very much a part of the first Christian church in Acts: “All the believers were one in heart and mind. No one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they shared everything they had…There were no needy persons among them. From time to time those who owned lands or houses sold them, brought the money from the sales and put it at the apostles’ feet and it was distributed to anyone  as he had need.” (Acts 4:32-35). I would like to see this to happen again today within the body of Christ – taking only what we need and giving away the rest.  We could do so much more as a society if we start sharing and giving more, if giving large sums of money becomes less of an abnormality and more of a standard practice. Indeed, self-sacrificial giving is the biblical model that Jesus has given to us, and it starts with us as Christians.

It’s been said that money the root of all evils. But rather than this, I believe that money is the root of all joy. With money, we have the chance to bless, to share what we have, to contribute to the needs of others. The more we give, the more we get! What a joy!

Where might God be asking you to give today?

Author’s note: One week after this, my family ate Chinese food again, and my fortune cookie said, “You will never need to worry about a steady income.” Now that’s interesting, huh?

Leave a Reply

