Dreaming with God – My bucket list

At our small group a few weeks ago, we shared our hopes and dreams, things on our heart that we were dreaming with God. I put together a “bucket list,” things I wanted to accomplish in my lifetime:

Traveling – Things I want to see/do:
-Climb Mount Kilimanjaro
-Sky dive over the Great Barrier Reef
-See the seven natural wonders of the world
-Go to Israel and Jerusalem and walk where Jesus walked
-Live with local people in every inhabited part of the planet (1 month+) to see the true condition of our world
-See the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights)
-Hike a good portion of the Appalachian Trail

Skills that I want to learn:
-Learn a song on the ukulele or violin
-Learn to cook culinary dishes from around the world
-Learn how to say greetings (hello, goodbye, how are you) in every major world language
-Learn how to surf and catch at least one big wave
-Write a book
-Compose a song that is hummable and catchy
-Create a piece of art that is wall-worthy

Others:
-Find raw cacao beans, then roast and bake something with them (I love chocolate!)
-Complete an Ironman Triathalon
-Lead someone to Christ and help disciple them in their relationship with Jesus, for life
-Watch an abundance of sunrises and sunsets
-Kiss in the rain
-Get married and have a family (this is contingent on the other half :-)
-Live in the mountains (The stunning kind that totally surround you with beauty)

And my big dream:

I dream that the Christian church would come together around Christ – working together in unity, as one body, casting down all denominational and ethnic walls. I want to see the city of Boston transformed by Christ’s love.

In looking back at these, I learned a couple of things about myself – first is that I’m a big dreamer! My parents always taught me to dream big. I realize that I’m very adventurous and outdoorsy, but I have an artsy side too. My pastor Kent said that you know when a dream is a God-dream when it’s way bigger than anything you could accomplish on your own. So yes, uniting the Christian community in Boston is definitely my big, God-sized dream. I would have said that you were crazy if three years ago you told me that I would be in Boston, working in ministry. But I know that God placed this dream in my heart, and the bible says that if God is for you, who can be against you? (Romans 8:31)

The caveat to this is that my bucket list is always changing. I hold all of these things loosely, because I know that it’s “not my will, but His be done.” When I think about other dreams that I have had (teaching outdoor education in a school in Colorado, making the national rowing team,) I have seen how God molds and shapes who we are and who we become. That’s the cool thing about living for Jesus – there’s a pruning that happens where as you live for Him, He takes away your desires, and replaces it with His. This might sound scary but it’s actually quite freeing. I feel more freedom, peace and joy doing what I do now than I ever have before. He knows you in and out, He knows your gifts, your experiences, and He wants to use you to change the world. So why not give it all up and surrender your life to Jesus? It’s more about God being here with us and dreaming with us, than us looking upwards to dream with God…

Philippians 3:8 “Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ” (NLT)

So yeah, that’s what I’m dreaming. Now tell me – What is on your bucket list?

One thought on “Dreaming with God – My bucket list

Leave a Reply

