Amidst the busyness of life…God!

If you’re in Boston, you’ve probably noticed that we have had some extraordinary skies here – rainbows of colors to bring in and close each day. I was working at Trader Joe’s the other evening when all of the sudden I looked out the window and there was an absolutely stunning sunset. One thing you’ll learn about me is I am a huge nature girl – and there’s nothing I love more than a good sunrise or sunset.

I pointed out the window and asked the manager if I could go and take a look outside – upon approval I stepped outside and  lo and behold it was incredible! Deep reds and lucious pinks combined with a bright orange filled the horizon by the Charles River. If a tropical popsicle could be expressed in the sky, this would have been it.   I got really excited and wanted to see it up close and personal. I looked to the right, then to the left, then ran (literally) across the Trader Joe’s parking lot, across Memorial Drive to the edge of the Charles River. Here’s what I saw:

This was taken with my camera on my non-flip non-smart phone :-)

I stayed here, praising God for His beauty and wonder, and the verse from Psalm 19 came to mind:

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge.”

I’m starting to appreciate that the skies are God’s language to us, God’s whisper into our hearts, a love-letter sent from heaven. A beauty in a sunset like this causes us to look up and remember that there is more to life than just us, just humans and buildings and cars and the busyness of life. Sometimes I think that God sends us beautiful sunsets just to say, “Hey guys! Here I am! I’m bigger and more beautiful than the buildings. And I made this sunset for you just because I love you!” For me, beautiful sunsets make me stop and think about what is really important in life.

But when I looked at all the cars rushing by, I wondered how many stopped to even notice. When I went back into work and asked customers in my check-out line, only one person had seen it. And I started to wonder – how many times do we miss God’s intricate handiwork because we are too busy? When is the last time I took time to examine the intricate beauty of a rose or a drop of dew on the grass? Jesus, may I never become too busy to appreciate Your handiwork. Open my eyes to see you in this world…

2 thoughts on “Amidst the busyness of life…God!

Leave a Reply

