How Hungry Are You?

How hungry are you to see Jesus in this city? It’s been one month since the Boston Night of Worship, and I’ve been thinking a lot about where we are as a church, where we need to go, and how we are going to get there.

At the Boston Night of Worship, it was incredible to stand in a stadium, with about four thousand Christians in the area, all worshipping Jesus together. Sometimes when we are all in our own churches I can get exhausted and discouraged because I feel like I’m the only one. But when you get in a setting like this, it’s refreshing to see the unity present among believers who are all worshipping together. I could also sense a powerful love that is so real you can literally tangibly feel it. When you look around the stadium and see believers from all different backgrounds, all different nationalities and denominations, worshipping together, you get a small taste of heaven, as in heaven there will be people from every nation, tribe, and language standing before the throne worshipping Jesus (Revelation 7:9).
Here’s a video that I took from the evening – it’s dark but in the middle of it my friend Brie and I are jumping up and down, smiling and singing praises to Jesus. Hallelujah!
And yet, at one point in the evening the leader asked us what we wanted God to do in our lives that night. I prayed, “God, I want to see revival in Boston.”
Now revival can be defined in many different ways, but I like to think of it as a spiritual awakening. I want to see hearts in this city awakened to know who Jesus is and what He has done for them, filled with the knowledge and the glory of God. I want to see this city transformed by Jesus’ love. And this time when I prayed for revival, I felt in my spirit that God was asking me: “OK. How hungry is the Church to see revival?”
I looked around the room and realized I had no idea where the majority of these people were at spiritually, how hungry they were to see revival. So I said, “God, I honestly don’t know. You know our hearts – so why don’t you tell me – how hungry are we?”
And I felt Him very clearly respond: “Not hungry enough.”
I then remembered that the theme of this year’s Boston Night of Worship was: “Hungry for More.”
Then God began to give me an impression that the church was here, but he wanted us to go here (deeper) – and He asked me a question: “What if the music stopped? Then who would come here to seek my face?”
I do think that the music, lights, bands, dancing is honoring to God, but that’s not what it is about. When I honestly considered this, I’m not sure how many people would come if there were no music, no lights, no dancing, no big-name worship leaders. I don’t know how many people would come to seek Jesus just for who He is. And in that moment this really began to burden and break my heart. I know that God wants so much more from us as His body in Boston. So I asked, “OK, God – What can we do to get the church to where you want it to be?”
And I sensed strongly in my spirit “Through corporate prayer and fasting.” God began to remind me of how the past ten days God of prayer and fasting He had been able to soften my spirit and plant His dreams in my heart. I thought about how, with Jonathan, Frank and myself, in sacrificing our time, energy, nutrition to the sake of Jesus and one another, there was a cord of brotherly love that came forth, binding us together. I thought about how these ten days had changed me, cleansed me, and transformed the way I thought about other cultures, how I see the beauty of the Kingdom in a completely different way. And I understood that God was asking me to dream with him, to imagine what He could do when that cord of love binds together hundreds, even thousands of believers in the area.
Yes, God gave me a sense that the 10 Days of Prayer, UniteBoston, and the Boston Night of Worship are three different initiatives, but are three cords of the same strand – UniteBoston is the communication network, the 10 Days of Prayer is the strategy, and the Boston Night of Worship is the corporate expression of Jesus in this city. I understood that when we as the city-wide Church come humbly together to pray and seek His face and turn from our own ways, then Jesus will hear from heaven, will forgive our sin, heal our land, and send revival to Boston (2 Chronicles 7:14)
God desires more for us… so much more. There is more in Him than we can ever imagine. Let’s pursue this deeper level of maturity together as a body. Let’s engage in days and seasons of corporate prayer and fasting. Let’s experience the incredible myriad of cultures and denominations present within our city, the various expressions of Jesus’ heart, and find opportunities to learn from one another. Then let’s come together to celebrate Him, to worship Him just for who He is. As one body, let’s say a corporate “Yes” to Jesus.
Zechariah 8:20 says “The inhabitants of one city will go to another and say, “Let us go at once to entreat the Lord and seek the Lord Almighty. I myself am going.”
Yes, I myself am going. Who wants to come with me?
Leave a Reply

