Why “One Kingdom Warrior?”

Hi! Welcome to my new blog, where I’ll be sharing my stories of what God is doing in my life – of ups and downs, of joys and triumphs, as well as the long hard steady climb of big mountains I am climbing. Thanks for joining me on this journey – I couldn’t do it without you!

I wanted to start off by writing why I chose the name “One Kingdom Warrior.”
First, there is a lot of meaning behind my name Kelly. My parents (who are amazing, by the way!) named me Kelly, which means “warrior woman.” They chose this name for me because seven months into my mom’s pregnancy, I decided it was time to be born. When I wanted to be born, even the medical inducement couldn’t keep this from happening, so I ended up coming into the world on April 13, 1985 – a whole seven weeks premature there was only 3 pounds, 8 ounces of me. I had to stay in an incubator for these seven weeks with only my small turtle stuffed animal that plays “Its a Small World” as my constant companion.
I have continued to have this steadfast, stubborn warrior-type attitude throughout my years, which is why I wanted to include the name “Warrior” in my blog title. My parents never let anything stop me and always pushed me to the limits, even taking me camping when my lungs were still undersized and I needed a monitor to help me remember to breathe (it only beeped one time!) At the right you can see a picture of my dad taking me skiing when I was just a few months old –

Now for the “One Kingdom” part of my blog’s title – I feel that God is calling me to better unite the Church into “One kingdom.” All of the Christian denominations are part of the same Church, the same kingdom of God – in Ephesians 4:5-6 it says “There is one Lord, one faith, one baptism, one God and father who is over all, and in all and through all.” Yes, we are all part of the same Kingdom, and God has given me a passion for uniting the Christian community and to make the one kingdom that He desires us to be a reality. More about this later.
Yes, I am a warrior, and I am passionate that we are all in “One Kingdom” but when you put these together, you see that truly I am only “One Kingdom Warrior.” I am just one small piece of the puzzle, of God’s mighty work in Boston and throughout the earth. I feel incredibly blessed every day that I get to spread His love and His joy in our world.
So that’s why I chose my blog name, and I’m stickin’ to it. Thanks for coming along this ride with me!
Leave a Reply

